Research Conferences

2019 International Tuberous Sclerosis Complex Research Conference: Changing the Course of TSC

June 20-22, 2019
Toronto, ON
Chelsea Hotel Toronto

The 2019 conference will be presented by the TS Alliance in partnership with Tuberous Sclerosis Canada Sclérose Tubéreuse and the TS Alliance of Mexico. More information will be posted on this page in the coming months. Please subscribe to TSC Alert for the latest updates on this meeting.

Key Links

Key Dates

  • March 22: Abstracts and travel award applications due
  • Early April: Platform presenters, poster presenters, and travel award winners notified
  • April 19: Early registration ends
  • May 17: Discounted group rate at hotel ends

Confirmed Speakers

  • Keynote Speaker: David Neal Franz, MD
  • Stéphanie Baulac, PhD
  • John J. Bissler, MD
  • Patrick F. Bolton, PhD, FRCPsych
  • Michael Borchers, MD
  • Angélique Bordey, PhD
  • Thomas N. Darling, MD, PhD
  • Peter Davis, MD
  • Kevin C. Ess, MD, PhD
  • You Feng, PhD
  • Elizabeth P. Henske, MD
  • Shafali S. Jeste, MD
  • Sergiusz Jóźwiak, MD, PhD
  • David J. Kwiatkowski, MD, PhD
  • Jonathan Lipton, MD, PhD
  • Jeff MacKeigan, PhD
  • Brendan Manning, PhD
  • Carmen Priolo, MD, PhD
  • Mustafa Sahin, MD, PhD
  • Wei Shi, MD, PhD
  • William L. Stanford, PhD
  • Elizabeth A. Thiele, MD, PhD

Tentative Agenda

Thursday, June 20

  • 8:45 am to 1:45 pm – TSC Early Career Researcher Symposium
    Co-Chairs: Angela Peron, MD and Charilaos Filippakis, PhD.
    Organizing Committee: Krinio Giannikou, PhD and Brian Siroky, PhD
    The program will include platform presentations by early career scientists, as well as career development activities.
  • 2 pm to 6 pm – Main research conference
  • 6:30 pm to 9 pm – Dinner and keynote

Friday, June 21

  • 8 am to 5 pm – Main research conference
  • 6 pm to 7:30 pm – Poster session and reception

Saturday, June 22

  • 8 am to 4 pm – Main research conference

Sunday, June 23

  • Optional full-day group outing to Niagara Falls, organized by TS Canada ST (additional fee; not included in registration)

Registration Prices

By April 19 From April 20
Early Career Researchers USD 395 USD 495
All Other Registrants USD 495 USD 645

Vicky H. Whittemore Travel Awards

Early-career researchers (including graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty members [non-tenure-track faculty or tenure-track for less than three years]) are eligible to receive travel awards. Abstracts of eligible authors requesting consideration for travel awards will be reviewed by the Organizing Committee, excluding any committee members who may have a conflict of interest. The Organizing Committee will select a limited number of abstracts for receipt of travel awards of USD 1,000 each, depending on available funds.

To apply for a travel award, please submit your abstract via proposalCENTRAL by March 22 and answer the questions on page 2.

Organizing Committee

  • Co-Chair: Elizabeth P. Henske, MD
  • Co-Chair: Michael Wong, MD, PhD
  • Peter Crino, MD, PhD
  • Shafali S. Jeste, MD
  • Arnold Kristof, MDCM, FRCP
  • Darcy Krueger, MD, PhD
  • Brendan Manning, PhD
  • Joao García Martínez, MD
  • Bláthnaid McCoy, MB, BCh, BAO
  • Elahna Paul, MD, PhD
Tuberous Sclerosis Canada Sclérose Tubéreuse

  • Karen Shulist

Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance of Mexico

  • Ary Agami

Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance

  • Kari Luther Rosbeck
  • Steven L. Roberds, PhD
  • Katie Smith

Past Research Conferences

  • 2017 International Research Conference on TSC and LAM: Innovating Through Partnerships (Washington, DC, USA)
  • 2015 International Tuberous Sclerosis Complex Research Conference: From Treatment to Prevention (Windsor, UK)