TSC Alert

Call for Nominations: 2017 Manuel R. Gomez Award

Dr. Manuel R. Gomez

Dr. Manuel R. Gomez

Nominations are being accepted until April 15, 2017, for the Manuel R. Gomez Award. This award is given in memory of Manuel R. Gomez, MD, the “Father of TSC” in the USA. Dr. Gomez provided care and compassion for hundreds of individuals with TSC during his career, and he sparked interest in the diagnosis and clinical care of individuals with TSC. A nominee should be someone who has made a significant impact on our understanding of TSC in research and/or impacted the delivery of clinical care for individuals with TSC.

To make a nomination, prepare a letter that describes the contributions and impact of the nominee’s work on clinical practice or research to improve the quality of life of those affected by TSC.  Send the letter of nomination and a current curriculum vitae (CV) for the nominee by no later than April 15, 2017, to Katie Smith, Manager of Research and Global Affairs, TS Alliance, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 750, Silver Spring, MD, or ksmith@tsalliance.org.

Previous Gomez awardees include:

  • Paolo Curatolo, MD, Tor Vergata University Hospital of Rome, Rome, Italy
  • Petrus J. de Vries, MBChB, MRCPsych, PhD, University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa
  • John J. Bissler, MD, University of Tennessee Health Science Center, Memphis, TN
  • E. Martina Bebin, MD, MPA, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
  • Howard Weiner, MD, New York University Medical Center, New York, NY (now at Texas Children’s Hospital, Houston)
  • Mark Mausner, MD
  • Sergiusz Jóźwiak, MD, PhD, Children’s Health Institute, Warsaw, Poland
  • Elizabeth A. Thiele, MD, PhD, Carol and Jim Herscot Center for Children and Adults with TSC at Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA
  • Ann Hunt, TS Association, Oxfordshire, UK
  • David Neal Franz, MD, Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati, OH
  • Elizabeth Petri Henske, MD, Fox Chase Cancer Center, Philadelphia, PA (now at Brigham & Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA)
  • Hope Northrup, MD, University of Texas – Houston, TX
  • E. Steve Roach, MD, Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, NC (now at Ohio State University, Columbus, OH)
  • David Kwiatkowski, MD, PhD, Brigham & Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA
  • Vicky Whittemore, PhD, Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance, Silver Spring, MD (now at National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, Bethesda, MD)